

## Indian Diaspora Council

Shared heritage, aspirations and interests www.indiandiasporacouncil.org

Post Office Box 650523 New York 11365 USA

3 January 2025 (EST-USA)

PRESS STATEMENT

## **IDC CONGRATULATES PBSA 2025 HONOREES**

The **Indian Diaspora Council** (**IDC**) joins with its global membership and affiliates in congratulating all 2025 Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awardees (PBSA) to be honored at the Valedictory Session on 9 January 2025 at the 18<sup>th</sup> Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD) at Bhubaneswar, Odisha, India. The honorees will be conferred the PBSA by the Hon. President of India, Smt. Droupadi Murmu.

The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award (PBSA) is the highest honor conferred on overseas Indians. PBSA is conferred by the Hon'ble President of India as part of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention on Non-Resident Indians, Persons of Indian Origin or an organization/institution established and run by the Non-Resident Indians or Persons of Indian Origin in recognition of their outstanding achievements both in India and abroad. The awardees represent the excellence achieved by our diaspora in various fields".



## CHIEF GUEST: Christine Carla Kangaloo, President of Trinidad and Tobago.

The 7<sup>th</sup> President of Trinidad and Tobago. The only person to serve as both President and Vice President of the Senate of Trinidad and Tobago, the first woman to serve as Senate Vice President, and the third woman to serve as acting President of Trinidad and Tobago and Senate President. She became the second woman to serve as President of Trinidad and Tobago upon her assumption of office on 20 March 2023.

The List of PBSA 2025 Honorees: (Source: Ministry of External Affairs, India)

Name	Country	Field
Prof. Ajay Rane	Australia	Community Service
Dr. Marialena Joan Fernandes	Australia	Education
Dr. Philomena Ann Mohini Harris	Barbados	Medical Science
Swami Sanyuktanand	Fiji	Community Service
Saraswati Vidya Niketan	Guyana	Community Service
Dr. Lekh Raj Juneja	Japan	Science & Technology
Dr. Prem Kumar	Kyrgyz Republic	Medical Science
Mr. Soukthavy Chowdhury	Laos	Business
Mr. Krishna Savjani	Malawi	Business
Tan Sri' Dr. Subramaniam K.V. Sathasivam	Malaysia	Politics
Dr. Sarita Boodhoo	Mauritius	Community Service
Mr. Abhaya Kumar	Moldova	Business
Dr. Ram Niwas	Myanmar	Education
Mr. Jaggannath Shekhar Asthana	Romania	Business
Hindustani Samaj	Russia	Community Service
Ms. Sudha Rani Gupta	Russia	Education
Dr. Syed Anwar Khursheed	Saudi Arabia	Medical Science
Mr. Atul Arvind Temurnikar	Singapore	Education
Mr. Robert Masih Nahar	Spain	Community Service
Dr. Kaushik Laxmidas Ramaiya	Tanzania	Medicine
Chief Guest H.E. Christine Carla Kangaloo	Trinidad & Tobago	Public Affairs
Mr. Ramakrishnan Sivaswamy Iyer	UAE	Business
Mr. Bonthala Subbaiah Setty Ramesh Babu	Uganda	Community Service
Baroness Usha Kumari Prashar	UK	Politics
Dr. Sharad Lakhanpal	USA	Medicine
Dr. Sharmila Ford	USA	Community Service
Mr. Ravi Kumar	USA	IT & Consulting

<sup>&</sup>quot;Congratulations to the 2025 Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awardees for your outstanding achievements" -Dr. Nicole Bissessar, Director of Community Cultural Affairs, Indian Diaspora Council